agroforst 1199


Naturland hosts sixth strategic meeting

Inofo2 gross

Currently (17th – 21th February) the 6th strategy workshop of INOFO (Intercontinental Network of Organic Farmers Organisation) is taking place at Naturland in Gräfelfing, Germany. 

INOFO is aiming to form a global political platform for organic farmers to represent the interests of organic farmers within the international community.

This institutional development work is financed by the German Federal Ministry for Cooperation and Development (BMZ) and carried out by the Andreas Hermes Academy. Naturland, as an international organic association, has been part of the board of INOFO since 2017 and is actively accompanying this development. Furthermore INOFO is supported by partner organisations such as IFOAM - Organics International, IFOAM - EU and IFOAM - Asia. The newly created structure will be discussed at the General Assembly of INOFO during the Organic World Conference in September this year. Furthermore, INOFO is now part of the IFAD Farmers Forum and has six seats in the forum. Just a week prior to this event an INOFO delegation with representatives from India, Brazil, Africa and the Philippines paid a visit to the International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD) in Rome and called for a stronger role of organic farming in the IFAD programmes.

At the meeting the INOFO representatives from each continent participate: INOFO chair woman Shamika Mone from India; Famara Diedhiou from Senegal, Janet Gracie from South-Africa, Thales Mendonca from Brazil and Sebastian Mittermaier from Germany.

INOFO is the autonomous self-organised farmers structure within IFOAM - Organics International. It specifically belongs to organic farmers organisations. The structure was created within IFOAM to foster and facilitate the relationship between farmers across continents. Thus allowing farmers to consult, cooperate and, eventually, to speak with a legitimate common voice on matters of common concern of organic farmers at a global level.

Photo from left to right: Purvi Shah-Paulini (AHA), Shamika Mone; Sebastian Mittermaier; Isabella Lang (IFOAM-EU); Janet Gracie; Thales Mendonca; Famara Diedhiou